Tuesday, July 6, 2010

2010 Kaiso 365 - Caribana Calypso Monarch finalists announced

The 2010 Calypso Monarch competition’s Preliminaries were held over the weekend to choose the eight top calypso singer for “Kaiso 365” on Saturday, July 24th at the Ontario Science Centre, 770 Don Mills Rd. The eight finalists chosen will join last year’s competition winner Michael “Redman” Thomas and will perform two original songs in hope of clinching the prestigious Calypso Monarch award and Canada’s top Calypso prize monies.

The nine singers drew numbers to determine the order of performance for the finals:

1. Naki - Nzunaki Tuitt
2. Smokey Burke – William Burke
3. Structure – Bryan Thornhill
4. De Carra – Leslie Carrabon
5. Webb – Hamilton Alexander
6. Macomere Fifi – Tara Woods
7. Redman – Michael Thomas
8. Penshioner – Trevor Quammie
9. Guney – Guney Cedeno

A tenth reserve singer, Calypso Crooner – Bill Newman, will also be on hand. Award-winning Musical Director Ossie Gurley will lead a 9-piece Calypso ensemble to accompany all contestants. Anchor host for the 3-hour concert is popular storyteller and author Ms. Itah Sadu and Special Guest for this year’s “Kaiso 365” is Britain’s 2009 Calypso Monarch Akima Paul.

Tickets for this exciting annual event are $35. adv. / $40. door, and can be purchased online at
www.ticketgateway.com or at Nicey’s Food Mart (416) 497-9717, Charley’s Food Mart Scarborough (416) 283-1441, A Different Booklist (416) 538-0889, Play De Record (416) 586-0380, Charley’s West Indian Food Mart Mississauga (905) 896-3663.

For information call (416) 795-2722 or e-mail

No comments:

Featured Post

2019 Toronto Carnival Band Directory

Hi readers, The mas bands have done their part… Band leaders have chosen their themes,  designers have worked tirelessly on thei...