Monday, July 13, 2009

OCPA 2009 Calypso Monarch Finalists

The finalists for the 2009 Calypson Monarch have been announced. Eight competitors will take on defending champion Macomere Fifi for the esteemed title.

Here are the finalists in Order of Appearance:

1. Brian Thornhill ~ Structure ~ Kaiso Forum
2. Bill Newman ~ Calypso Crooner ~ The Professionals
3. Susan Grogan ~ Susan G ~ Kaiso Forum
4. Denise Alexander ~ Spice ~ Kaiso Forum
5. Michael Moore ~ Beginner ~ The Professionals
6. Michael Thomas ~ Redman ~ Kaiso Forum
7. Tara Eulith Woods ~ Macomere Fifi (2008 defending champ) ~ The Professionals
8. Henry Gomez ~ King Cosmos ~ Kaiso Forum
9. Nzunaki Tuitt ~ Naki ~ The Professionals
* Reserve Leslie Carrabon ~ De Carra ~ Kaiso Forum
* in case one of the original eight finalists cannot perform on the night for any reason

OCPA's KAISO 365 Calypso Monarch Finals with take place on Saturday July 18th, 2009 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre (Exhibition Place, CNE Grounds). Tickets are $42.00 in advance; $45.00 at the door. For a list of ticket outlets, check your local Toronto Caribbean newspapers or call OCPA at 416-795-2722.

The nine finalists will perform two newly-composed calypsos before a panel of judges. Each song will be awarded points out of a maximum of 100 points divided into five (5) categories as follows:

Lyrics - 35
Melody - 20
Vocal Rendition - 25
Presentation - 10
Originality - 10

Cash prizes and gifts are awarded to the four (4) singers with the highest score out of a total of 200 points.

In addition, there will be the following special awards categories: Arrangement, Local Content, Humor, Background Vocals, and New Artiste.

OCPA (Organization of Calypso Performing Artistes) Website:

Good luck to all the contestants!!!

No comments:

Featured Post

2019 Toronto Carnival Band Directory

Hi readers, The mas bands have done their part… Band leaders have chosen their themes,  designers have worked tirelessly on thei...